بيان صحفي

"شروق" تبرم مذكرة تفاهم مع غرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية لتعزيز العلاقات التجارية والاقتصادية بين الإمارات وبريطانيا

أبريل 14، 2015

على هامش الجولة الترويجية التي تنظمها في لندن
أبرمت هيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير (شروق) وغرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية، مذكرة تفاهم لتعزيز التعاون بين الجانبين في مجالي الاستثمار والتطوير، بما يؤدي إلى الارتقاء بمستوى العلاقات الاقتصادية والتجارية التي تربط بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة.
وتم توقيع المذكرة في فندق ماندارين أورينتال هايد بارك بالعاصمة البريطانية لندن، يوم أمس (الاثنين)، بحضور الشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي، رئيس هيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير "شروق"، وسعادة عبد الرحمن غانم المطيوعي، سفير دولة الإمارات لدى المملكة المتحدة، والشيخ محمد بن مكتوم آل مكتوم، السكرتير الأول في سفارة الدولة بالمملكة المتحدة، وسعادة مروان بن جاسم السركال، المدير التنفيذي لـهيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير (شروق)، والدكتورة أفنان الشعيبي، الأمين العام والرئيس التنفيذي لغرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية، و سعود السويدي، مدير إدارة العلاقات الدولية والشراكات في "شروق" ، و عبد السلام الإدريسي، مدير الخدمات التجارية في غرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية.
وجاء توقيع مذكرة التفاهم على هامش الجولة الترويجية التي تنظمها "شروق" في العاصمة البريطانية خلال الفترة من 13 إلى 15 أبريل الجاري، وذلك في إطار رؤية الهيئة الرامية إلى تمتين الروابط مع الهيئات الاقتصادية والاستثمارية الدولية، بهدف زيادة التعاون المتبادل، وترويج الشارقة كوجهة رئيسية للاستثمار في المنطقة.
وقالت الشيخة بدور القاسمي في تعليق لها بهذه المناسبة: "نعمل في "شروق" على تعزيز العلاقات التجارية والاقتصادية الدولية لإمارة الشارقة بشكل خاص ودولة الامارات بشكل عام بهدف جذب الاستثمارات، وتعزيز فرص التنمية الاقتصادية والاستثمارية والتجارية، وزيادة التعاون وتبادل الخبرات في مختلف المجالات بين الطرفين، بالشكل الذي يمهد الطريق لتحقيق نمو اقتصادي في ظل مناخ الأعمال المزدهر بالشارقة والإمارات".
ومن جانبه قال سعادة عبد الرحمن غانم المطيوعي، سفير الدولة لدى المملكة المتحدة: "يسرنا أن نرحب بالشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي والوفد المرافق لها من هيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير "شروق" هنا في لندن. كما نود أن نؤكد أن أي جهد يمكن بذله لخدمة اقتصاد دولة الإمارات والترويج لصادراتها هو أولوية عليا بالنسبة للسفارة والقسم الاقتصادي بإشراف السكرتير أول الشيخ محمد بن مكتوم آل مكتوم ومن هنا فقد تشرفنا بالتعاون والعمل الحثيث مع "شروق" من أجل إنجاح هذه الزيارة وضمان تمكن الوفد الكريم من الالتقاء بأكبر عدد ممكن من الهيئات التجارية والاستثمارية البريطانية لبحث آفاق التعاون وترسيخ العلاقات التاريخية بين البلدين من خلال قطاع التجارة والاستثمار. كما أود الإشارة إلى الدور البارز الذي قامت به غرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية لتعزيز العلاقات التجارية بين بريطانيا والدول العربية عموماً ودولة الإمارات بشكل خاص."
و في هذه المناسبة قالت الدكتورة أفنان الشعيبي، الأمين العام والرئيس التنفيذي لغرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية:" نحن على ثقة بأن توقيع هذه المذكرة سوف يفتح مجالات أوسع لتعزيز الفرص الاستثمارية وتبادل الخبرات وتوسيع الأنشطة التجارية المشتركة وستضيف بعداً جديداً على أعمالنا وخاصة في الميادين الاقتصادية والتجارية بين الجانبين".
وتقضي بنود مذكرة التفاهم بقيام كل من "شروق" وغرفة التجارة العربية البريطانية بالعمل على تشجيع، وترويج، وتسهيل التعاون في مجالي الاستثمار والتطوير بين أوساط التجارة والأعمال في إمارة الشارقة والمملكة المتحدة، والعمل على تنسيق إقامة شبكة أعمال وتوسعتها لتمكين هذه الأوساط من الاستفادة من فرص الأعمال المتاحة في كلا البلدين، اضافة إلى تنظيم جولة تعريفية لممثلي عدد من الجهات والمؤسسات الحكومية البريطانية إلى إمارة الشارقة في أواخر العام الجاري.
واتفق الجانبان بموجب المذكرة على تشجيع تداول المعلومات الاقتصادية المتبادلة، والاحصائيات، والبيانات التجارية، والأنشطة البحثية المشتركة، ومساعدة كل طرف للآخر عند المشاركة في المعارض التجارية، والمؤتمرات، ولندوات، وتنظيمها. كما تعهد الجانبان بالعمل على تذليل التحديات التي تعيق نمو الاستثمار والأعمال، وذلك بتحديد العوائق وإيجاد الحلول المناسبة، ودعم وتشجيع تبادل الخبرات الفنية وفرص التدريب.
ويعقد وفد )شروق( إلى المملكة المتحدة والذي تترأسه الشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي، ويضم سعادة مروان بن جاسم السركال، المدير التنفيذي لـ"شروق"، اجتماعات مع ممثلي غرفة التجارة البريطانية، وجمعية الخدمات البيئية، وغرفة تجارة برمنجهام، ومكتب عمدة لندن، ورابطة قطاعات الرعاية الصحية البريطانية، ومستشفى رويال مارسدن، بالإضافة إلى غرفة تجارة لندن.
وبلغ حجم التبادل التجاري بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة نحو 12 مليار جنيه استرليني في العام 2012. وتمتلك المملكة المتحدة أكثر من 400 شركة تجارية، و800 وكالة تجارية، و8,000 علامة تجارية مسجلة في الإمارات. ويبلغ عدد أفراد الجالية البريطانية في دولة الإمارات ما يزيد عن 100 ألف، كما تستقبل إمارات الدولة أكثر من مليون زائر بريطاني سنوياً. ومع تواصل نمو الروابط بين الشارقة والمملكة المتحدة، فقد تم مؤخراً منح شركة بريطانية عقداً بقيمة 343 مليون جنيه استرليني لبناء أكبر مصنع في العالم لتحويل النفايات إلى طاقة حرارية في الإمارة.
وتتركز مهام "شروق" في توفير التسهيلات الضرورية والحوافز وتذليل العقبات التي تواجه أنشطة الاستثمار في الإمارة، وكذلك تقييم مشروعات البنية التحتية ذات الصلة بالسياحة ووضع الخطط اللازمة لإستكمال تلك المشروعات.
وتقديراً لإنجازاتها المتميزة، فازت )شروق( بجائزة وكالة الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر لعام 2013 و2014 التي تقدمها مجلة "ذا يوروبيان" البريطانية ضمن الجوائز المصرفية للعام 2013 و 2014 - منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.
عودة إلى الإعلام
شارك هذا المقال:

Press Release

Shurooq signs MoU with Arab-British Chamber of Commerce

April 14, 2015 ,

MoU signed during three-day roadshow in London to strengthen UAE-UK commercial and economic ties
The Sharjah Investment and Development Authority (Shurooq) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce (ABCC(. The signing of the MoU, which forms part of Shurooq’s overall strategy to strengthen ties with international economic and investment bodies in order to increase mutual cooperation and promote Sharjah as a prime investment location in the region, took place during a three-day UK roadshow ending on April 15th.
The signing ceremony took place at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park Hotel in London, yesterday (Monday), in presence of Sheikha Bodour bint Sultan Al Qasimi, Chairperson of Shurooq, HE Abdul Rahman Ghanim Al Mutaiwee, UAE Ambassador to the United Kingdom, Sheikh Mohammed bin Maktoum Al Maktoum, First Secretary at the UAE Embassy in the UK, HE Marwan bin Jassim Al Sarkal, CEO of Shurooq, Dr Afnan Al-Shuaiby, Secretary General and Chief Executive of the ABCC, Saud Al Suwaidi, Director of International Relations and Partnerships at Shurooq, and Abdelsam El Idrissi, Director of Trade Services from the ABCC.
Speaking about the agreement, Sheikha Bodour bint Sultan Al Qasimi, remarked, “We at Shurooq strive to enhance the international commercial and economic relations of Sharjah and the UAE, with the aim of attracting investment, increasing opportunities for business development, and encouraging mutual cooperation and exchange of expertise. These efforts help to pave the way for financial growth in the flourishing economy of the UAE.”
His Excellency Abul Rahman Ghanem Al Mutaiwee, UAE Ambassador to the UK welcomed the visit and commented on the important role the Embassy plays in expanding the commercial and investment ties between the two countries. He added, “We are delighted to welcome Sheikha Bodour and the Shurooq delegation to the United Kingdom. Serving the UAE economy by promoting Emirati exports and encouraging British investment in the UAE is a high priority for the Embassy and especially for the Economic Department headed by First Secretary Shaikh Mohammed bin Maktoum Al Maktoum who has been working closely with Shurooq to arrange this visit. We are pleased to have succeeded in arranging a vast number of meetings with some of the most prominent UK businesses and investment institutions and we would like to wish Shurooq all the success in promoting Sharjah’s investment portfolio here in the United Kingdom. I would also like to highlight the importance of the Arab British Chamber of Commerce’s role in promoting British Arab trade relations and trade relations with the UAE in specific. ”
Dr Afnan Al-Shuaiby, Secretary General and Chief Executive of the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce, said: “We are confident that signing this MoU will help enhance investment opportunities and the exchange of expertise, expand mutual business activities and add a new dimension to our business, particularly in the economic and commercial sectors”.
Under the terms of the MoU, which was signed by HE Marwan bin Jassim Al Sarkal, CEO of Shurooq, and Dr Afnan Al-Shuaiby, Secretary General and Chief Executive of the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce, Shurooq and ABCC plan to encourage, promote, and facilitate investment and development cooperation among the business communities in Sharjah and the UK, and to coordinate, establish, and expand a business network that enables these communities to leverage the financial opportunities available in both countries, in addition to organising road shows for representatives of British government’s entities to the emirate of Sharjah by end of this year.
In addition, Shurooq and ABCC have agreed to encourage the flow of reciprocal economic information, statistics, and trade data, as well as joint research activities, and to assist each other in organising and participating in trade fairs, exhibitions conferences and seminars. The two entities furthermore strive to work together to eliminate obstacles that may hinder the growth of investment and business by identifying barriers, finding suitable solutions, and supporting and encouraging the exchange of technical expertise and training opportunities.
Shurooq’s delegation to the UK, which is headed by Sheikha Bodour and includes HE Marwan Bin Jassim Al Sarkal, CEO of Shurooq, is set to meet with the British Chambers of Commerce, the Environmental Services Association, the Birmingham Chamber of Commerce, the Lord Mayor’s Office, the Association of British Healthcare Industries, and Royal Marsden Hospital. They have already met with the London Chamber of Commerce.
Bilateral trade between the UAE and the UK reached £12 billion in 2012, and there are nearly 400 British trading companies and 800 British trading agencies, as well as over 8,000 UK trademarks registered in the UAE. Currently over 100,000 UK expatriates reside in the UAE, while the Emirates welcomes more than one million British visitors each year. Ties between Sharjah and the UK also continue to grow – a UK firm was recently awarded a contract worth £343 million to build the world’s largest advanced thermal energy-from-waste facility in the emirate.
Shurooq's key mission is to provide facilities and incentives to help overcome obstacles facing investment activities in Sharjah, evaluate investment-related infrastructure projects, and lay down the necessary plans to complete such projects.
In recognition of its overall accomplishments, Shurooq was named The Banking Awards 2013 and 2014 FDI Agency of the Year in the MENA region at the European’s Global Banking and Finance Awards.
Back to media
Share this article: